The City

The first plot in the masterplan of Wenckebachweg Zuid to be developed is adjacent to the exit of the A10.

According to the guidelines set up by the municipality on this plot 25.000m2 in a mix of housing, offices, communal program and businesses can be developed.

The volume has a plinth up to 18 meter heigh in which offices, the communal program and the businesses will be situated.

On top of this plinth two towers of respectively 50 and 70 meters high will arise in which social housing, medium rent apartments and free sector apartments will be placed in several sizes varying from 36m2 to 86m2 in size.

The roof of the plinth volume will function as a green oasis for both the habitants and the office-workers. On this level atelier-apartments and the canteen of the offices will be situated. This middle roof-level facing south will have enough thickness to host trees and plants and function as a second ground level and waterbuffer with the intention to create a system of phytoremediation.

The diversity in the overall program of the volume, the variety of apartment sizes and apartment types invites a range of people from singles to blended families of various ages which will bring a variety of live-styles to the area and in the building complex.

From the future streetscape with a new water canal and adjacent park the plinth building encloses an urban square that is gradually guiding visitors to the entrances of the complex by plants of different heights and volumes.

The plot deals with challenging conditions in terms of sound caused by the railway and the highway A10. Double facades, the balconies and the logia’s of the housing towers will give a play of texture and depth to the facades.

Location: Wenckebachweg, Ouder-Amstel, The Netherlands

Program: housing, offices, businesses, communal spaces

Area: 25.000 m2

Client: Amsterdam Development

Construction engineer: Van der Vorm Engineering

Acoustics & Feasibility: Peutz

Installation engineer: Overdevest Adviseurs

Status: Sketch Design

Project team: Freyke Hartemink, Jarrik Ouburg, Pedro Henrique Figueiredo Magalhães, Enrica Pesce