HOH Architecten was founded in 2017 is led by Freyke Hartemink and Jarrik Ouburg. Both partners have gained broad international experience at renowned architectural firms in Switzerland, Belgium, Japan and the Netherlands. By working in an international context, they have learnt that the same task can be viewed in different ways, giving them a broad scale of reference.


HOH designs and produces across all scales of the built environment, ranging from urban masterplans, public and residential buildings, to gardens, curtains, furniture and temporary interventions. We believe spatial quality can be created at the intersection between scales and disciplines and is a consequence of a close understanding of the history and spirit of place. ‘Working with what is there’ is the method of approach for each project, regardless of its scale – making context, people and resources available on site our key source of inspiration.


Our approach is pragmatic and intuitive. We research by design and design by research. Every project is seen as an opportunity to discover collective intelligence and creativity of all parties involved, thereby revealing the unique journey and qualities of each project. Thus, the result becomes a design with autonomous spatial qualities that transcends the initial question or assignment and allows space for discovery and development.


HOH is actively involved in academic education, research and publication. We interweave the narratives and discoveries of the theoretical worlds with the realities of practice. We view the academic realm as a testing bed for new ideas, techniques, insights and talents. Practice and theory, reality and dream are both equally relevant to our practice, indivisible parts from each other.


FREYKE HARTEMINK (1975, NL) studied architecture at the Technical University in Delft (NL) and the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule in Zurich (CH) and graduated in 2001. From 2001 to 2003 she was an independent researcher in Japan, at the University of Tokyo (TODAI), and simultaneously worked as an architect at the office of Kengo Kuma & Associates in Tokyo.

Subsequently she worked in Brussels for NoA Architects and from 2004 to 2016 at the office of Wiel Arets Architects.

The contrasts and resemblances experienced while living in Japanese and Swiss cultures prompted her pursuance of mastering the ways in which design inhabits all scales. The two cultures are unified in dealing with beauty and order. The specific interest of Freyke lies not only in researching and revealing the area where scales meet but also where design disciplines like urban, landscape- and garden design meet with architecture.

She teaches at the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture.


JARRIK OUBURG (1975, NL) studied architecture at the Technical University in Delft (NL) and the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule in Zurich (CH). In 2001 he won the Archiprix International with his graduation project.

He worked for E2A (CH), De Architecten Cie. (NL), Toyo Ito & Associates (JP), XDGA (BE) and was research fellow at the Tokyo Institute of Technology (JP) on a Monbusho grant.

He was a lecturer and critic at TU Delft, Design Academy Eindhoven, Academy of Architecture in Mumbai (IN), Universita dela Svizzera in Mendrisio (CH) and KU Leuven in Ghent and Brusssels (BE).

From 2012 to 2016 he was the head of the Architecture department at the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture. During that period he founded the research ‘Tabula Scripta’, which he continued to work on after his period as head as a research fellow. The research resulted in the book ‘Rewriting Architecture – 10+1 Actions’ at the end of 2020.

In 2022 he was appointed a member of the Spatial Quality Committee City of Amsterdam. He is regularly invited as a speaker, critic or to participate in selection committees of prizes and competitions.


Maciej Abramczyk, Coralie Barthe, Emma Bellucci, Katherina Bruh, Maria José Jiménez Borja, Andrea Čeko, Frédérique van Erven, Luigi Fabozzi, Hannes Heitmüller, Joost Huyzer, Csenge Király, Hanna Lee, Diana Kuch, Kornel Lewicki, Pedro Magalhaes, Matteo Oldoni, Athina Pappa, Enrica Pesce, Andreea Pîrvan, Maurijn Rouwet, Paul Ruhnau, Mariaelena Scaglia, Dovilė Šeduikytė, Luuc Sonke, Giulio Tamma, Victor Verhagen, Stéphanie Willocx

Co-founder: Carsten Hilgendorf



Freyke Hartemink, Jarrik Ouburg